Israel in 20 meals – part 2

Tuesday, second day in Israel, sunny and warm (over 30 degrees). After a very interesting and moving visit in the hospital (I joined my colleague who tested a patient on her language and memory after a brain operation on a tumor, and although it was in Hebrew, I understood quite a bit of what was going on -i knew the test materials- and that was  very interesting! Extremely sad story for the young lady though, I sure hope she will get better), we went out in the sun to Miznon. A small chaotic, loud and crowded place, opened by a former chef. It is actually a pita place. Almost everything is served in a pita, which sounds as just another fast food restaurant. But: it’s not. The food is delicious. We had some starters, including a whole cauliflower which came from a wood oven, as well as a sweet potatoe (probably from the same oven). Simple dishes, but great products and treated well, hence very very tasty! I thought I didn’t like cauliflower all that much. Well, I was wrong. The way they make it, it is light, crunchy, slightly nutty, and not the heavy overcooked version I knew.

Apart from that, we each had a different pita. Funny, on tripadvisor Miznon is recommended for its meat pita’s. I can’t comment on that. We all had a vegetarian version, and they were all great. One was with cauliflower, one with bread beans (I thought I didn’t like those either. Again, I was wrong), one with ratatouille kind of filling and one with vegetables that had been grilled before. So Miznon, recommended for vegetarians as well! These people really know what they are doing with their products. I will most certainly go there again.

IMG_0095

IMG_0096IMG_0102IMG_0103

Our fourth Israeli meal was in Joz ve Loz, one of the restaurants that I visit on each Tel Aviv visits, which says enough. It is not cheap, but -to my western european standards- also not overpriced. The restaurant itself is decorated more or less as a normal living/dining room, with a mixture of old furniture. The same holds for the terrace, a funky mixture of old chairs and tables which creates an intimate atmosphere. It is always crowded, if you really want to eat there, make a reservation so that you won’t get disappointed. Service is nice, and very informal. O, and yes, the menu is in Hebrew only, we were there with Hebrew speaking friends, so no problem, and I read on tripadvisor that waiters are happy to explain what’s there. Also be prepared to make more than one choice, since some of the dishes are out when you’re a bit late. I actually like that, cause it means that everything is bought fresh, and not too much is bought and then later thrown away.

Anyway, another very very nice meal. Here too: fresh ingredients, combined in unusual, but extremely tasty ways. I had fried artichokes with capern as a starter (i have to eat more artichokes honestly) , and then actually another starter, chevice (don’t remember what fish, a white one :-)) with olive oil, lemon and fresh green almonds. I had choosen it because of the raw fish (hmmmm so fresh, really great) and the green almonds.  These were interesting, a little bitter, but, I didn’t think they had much taste. Nevertheless, interesting combination. Of course, I tried other meals on the table as well, including a huge green salad (good), a pasta (spicy), filled squid (very nice, I would eat those next time if they have them) and for desert malabi with rose water and pistache nuts, sweet but not too sweet, one of my favourites. If you are in Tel Aviv, and have time for more than one meal, go here as well.

 IMG_2573 IMG_2576IMG_2577

Leave a Reply

