Paté Chinois or Shepherd’s pie

Our Daring Cooks’ December 2012 Hostess is Andy of Today’s the Day and Today’s the Day I Cook! Andy is sharing with us a traditional French Canadian classic the Paté Chinois, also known as Shepherd’s pie for many of us, and if one dish says comfort food.. this one is it!

And right she is, perfect comfort food for a cold november month! I made my very first shepherd’s pie ever, and it was delicious. I basically followed the recipe from Nigella Lawson for her Christmas version of a Shepherd’s pie, with the exception that I made only (ha!) one quarter of the recipe (which was more than enough for the two of use to enjoy it twice), and instead of Marsala I used Madeira (because I did not have Marsala), and instead of the venison and pork I used mixed minced meat from pork and beef (50/50), simply because it was easier to get. Also, I used relative too much potatoes, a planning mistake (I used up the pound my girlfriend wanted to use for gnocchi two days later as well :-)), which was a pity, cause because of this the somewhat sweet taste of the parsnips got lost, the mash was mainly potatoey. Nevertheless, it was great fun to make, and it tasted fantastic, really really good winter food.

Here are some pictures:

IMG_2408 IMG_2414IMG_2416

2 thoughts on “Paté Chinois or Shepherd’s pie

Leave a Reply

