Boeuf Bourguignon

Our May 2012 Daring Cooks’ hostess was Fabi of fabsfood. Fabi challenged us to make Boeuf Bourguignon, a classic French stew originating from the Burgundy region of France.

A very nice challenge, because I really like this kind of food. Meat that is sitting in the oven for hours (in a whole bottle of red wine!), champignons slowly baked, perfect! Moreover, Fabi wanted us to make the Julia Child version. This version I knew, cause I ate it (a friend of mine made it once for me), and I liked it a lot. I really would like to have the Julia Child cookbook sometime myself, but this gave me the opportunity to make one of her recipes already. Great, thanks Fabi for your work on this challenge.

Here are some pics from the process:

(doesn’t that speck look lovely?)

and the end result. Approved by my girlfriend as well as my mother in law, so I guess I will be making it again! I have no problem with that at all, it was great fun to make it. During the whole process there were basically only two real challenges. First, I could not find the very nice small onions that are needed here. Probably I should order them on beforehand, but well, I guess I am not organized enough for that. Instead I used shallots, and this I halfed because they were still quite big. It turned out in the end that I had not cooked them long enough, they were not completely through, which for this dish is not so nice.

The second problem was the meat, I had gotten beautiful looking beef, but, when I started sauteing, it lost a lot of water, and hence I could not get a nice golden brown crust. The pan was hot enough, I had just sauteed the speck in it, which worked out well, so that could not have been the problem. I guess or am afraid that the meat had been frozen before and hence had so much water in it. Not so nice. For the endresult is was ok, but still the meat was a little on the dry side. Not so much that I was disappointed, but still. Could this be the reason? The meat being frozen before? Next time I’ll ask my butcher.

anyway: a will-make again recipe, great smell, lots of fun, great taste!

2 thoughts on “Boeuf Bourguignon

    1. esthercooks Post author

      thanks! I’ll try and see if I can get Julia’s cookbook, I’ll first have to decide which language though (multilingual household…) Dutch, German or English 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

